Mayo Clinic Reviews

Show reviews that mention
mayo doctor doctors care pain clinic patient people treatment money
Filter review
Most helpful review
New Reviewer
Mayo Clinic Jacksonville Florida Misdiagnosed My Cancers, Abandoned My Care, Intimidated Me When I Fought Back
Mayo Clinic Jacksonville Florida Misdiagnosed My Cancers, Abandoned My Care, Intimidated Me When I Fought Back
Mayo Clinic Jacksonville Florida Misdiagnosed My Cancers, Abandoned My Care, Intimidated Me When I Fought Back
Mayo Clinic Jacksonville Florida Misdiagnosed My Cancers, Abandoned My Care, Intimidated Me When I Fought Back
Mayo Clinic Jacksonville Florida Misdiagnosed My Cancers, Abandoned My Care, Intimidated Me When I Fought Back
Mayo Clinic Jacksonville Florida Misdiagnosed My Cancers, Abandoned My Care, Intimidated Me When I Fought Back
IF YOU ARE OR WERE A PATIENT AT MAYO CLINIC YOU MAY WISH TO READ THIS THROUGH BEFORE CONSIDERING WRITING A COMPLAINT. My experience. I was a patient at Mayo Clinic for 3 years. I was patient at another institution for 2 years before I went to Mayo for help. I almost...
View full review
View full review
31 comments
#1965638

I am so sorry you went through all of this. They are elite thugs in healthcare.

They ruin lives of not only patients, but employees as well. The billing fraud continues and is only getting worse. Go seek medical attention elsewhere as many good care providers have left, fed up with the unethical tactics of Cult Mayo. Once you enter any Mayo facility you are not safe, they destroy careers, if you leave they make sure you never get hired, they only way to leave them as a patient is to run out of money or wait until they have maxed out your health insurance, regardless, you risk not having another healthcare provider take you on a patient.

They assume the are the best and act so arrogantly to patients, other physicians, staff, yet no longer provide the world renowned care they boast about. If patients knew how they degrade, humiliate and target people on the payroll who are trying to help deliver care, the coverups, they would not come to Mayo. No one knows the behind the scene mental mind games that drive good providers to mental health issues and some choose suicide as an escape.

I get ill every time those commercials are on TV, because I know they will keep luring an unsuspecting victim into their web. Stay well and safe...and the *** away from all Mayo Clinic sites.

View more comments
ID
#981396 Review #981396 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Jacksonville, Florida
Service
Mayo Clinic Medical Care
Cons
  • Uncaring leadership who doesnt put patients first
Reason of review
My rights as a human being & patient were violated. My medical care was abandoned which is a Federal patients' rights violation. I trusted Mayo Clinic and they threw me away without regard for my life or the outcomes of my cancers.
Loss
$500000
Preferred solution
An apology from the CEO & doctors they must take compassion training courses.
New Reviewer

Poor ervice

I set an appointment with them about 3 weeks ago for them to call me at 8:45 AM on July 9, 2021. They never called. I thought they were a first class outfit!
View full review
ID
#2669532 Review #2669532 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Jacksonville, Florida
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
This fee is a fee not a deposit or an amount that goes towards your deductible or medical expenses... for my ex husband who has been battling with 2 CSF leaks in his spine/brain since having a cyst removed in July of 2018, and living on disability only for last 3...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2413127 Review #2413127 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mayo Clinic Customer Care
Pros
  • That dr marsh may be able to cure my x husband
Cons
  • That its unaffordable
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Miserable experience

I filled in all the details in the above column. There are no further details except the fact that Mayo's

User's recommendation: Find another hospital.

View full review
ID
#2399662 Review #2399662 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
1st visit to Dr.Thomas Osborn went relatively well. Second visit this past year (09/30/20) experienced a shorter time frame with him &;; no change in meds or any new recommendations. However, as of yesterday (01/28/21) I was informed by a NURSE! of a drastic change...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2399653 Review #2399653 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I moved to Minnesota (MN) to go to Mayo for a rare form of blood cancer. Where I'd lived, the doctors didn't know how to help me. During the shutdown in March 2020, Mayo abandoned me and all their patients even though the MN governor said that the chronically and...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1970545

I am sorry you had this terrible experience. This is a pattern of unethical behavior from Mayo Clinic.

I hope you have been able to find medical care from a compassionate provider. I recommend contacting the following: 1) RareDiseaseFoundation.org as they may be able to refer you or help you find a specialist to help you. Don't give up. Also, please do the following: 2) Call, email and write to your congressional representatives and your senators.

REQUEST YOUR REP/SENATOR to file a congressional inquiry on your behalf to look into the abandonment of your medical care for a life threatening condition. This is a violation of your patients' rights. Go to this site to find your representatives. It's quick and easy.

https://www.house.gov/representatives/find-your-representative 3) File a complaint with the US Joint Commission and submit a complaint here: https://www.jointcommission.org/resources/patient-safety-topics/report-a-patient-safety-event/ Tell your story. Be concise. Make sure you have all of your records. Keep a log of your actions and create a journal of your experiences at Mayo Clinic.

I hope this helps. Ask a friend or family member to help you if this is too much for you alone. You are not alone sadly.

You are in my prayers. God bless you.

ID
#2306117 Review #2306117 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

Sent letter over 2 weeks ago

I sent a complaint letter to the Mayo board 2 weeks ago.
View full review
ID
#2243457 Review #2243457 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
what is my problem, need to see other doctor

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I contacted your Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, Arizona and was told to contact The Mayo Clinic in Rochester Minnesota because Scottsdale didn't have an EBT machine and Rochester has one. I contacted Kathy, Angela, Loren and Brittany appointment specialists and was...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2118919 Review #2118919 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Spokane, Washington
Service
Mayo Clinic Customer Care
New Reviewer

Feel like one of your security guards has abused his position

I brought my mother in law in just after lunch today for an urgent visit she is a mayo patient and had been for many years. She is 80 and has multiple serious health conditions and she believes that the mayo clinic will enable her to live forever although my wife and I feel that her time is near. I understand the Corona virus protocols and fully support them so when I was told that I could not enter that was fine with me as I knew she was in good hands. Outside the ER entrance is a parking lot marked Patient Parking so I parked there along with three to four other folks who were waiting for their respective family members that were also being seen. At about 7 pm I left to get something to eat and immediately returned to the same spot at which a security guard who was sitting at the entrance to the ER saw me and walked down to where I was parked thus began his sole purpose in life was to make sure I left. I explained to him why I was there and had been there all day. Did not matter to him as he threatened to have my car towed apparently with me in it I got the impression that their was more to his demands than just having me leave the parking lot that was by now empty as I assume the people waiting for their loved ones had left. I also am a mayo patient and together with my mother in law have generated countless thousands of dollars at this clinic and to be bullied by this security guard is not satisfactory. I would like to know why it was so important to this guy to get his way. With all things that are happening around us today I feel that his actions were uncalled for. It now is 9:15 pm and I still do not know the status oh my mother in law. R/ J. H. Howell 912 552 ****
View full review
ID
#1999872 Review #1999872 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Bad attitudes
  • Bad customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I have had 19 months of pain and nerve damage

Operated on at Mayo Phoenix Oct 2018- they placed a cage around my L5 Nerve and Sciatic nerve rendering my left foot numb and sciatic pain every day since-They knew about this in June of 2019 and did nothing- If you are an attorney reading this, I would love to tell you my story.

User's recommendation: Don't go to Mayo Clinic.

View full review
ID
#1961316 Review #1961316 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Albuquerque, New Mexico

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Disappointing experience

After being told by Oncology Department the Pancreatic Cancer I was diagnosed with stage two that surgery is ineffective and chemo would kill me! I was told to go home and get hospice care! No alternatives suggested! I found a Mount Sina Surgeon who is operating on me this week and has more options to treat my Cancer! No cat scans or pet scans showed any involvement in my organs ! My attorney wife says Mayo is liable for my delay in treatment! We will see soon!

User's recommendation: Do not bother with Mayo Oncology.

View full review
1 comment
#1861229

I am sorry you had this disappointing experience. This is more common at Mayo Clinic than most realize.

Be thankful you found care elsewhere. I wish a successful outcome.

Good luck with getting an apology or accountability from Mayo Clinic. They've committed much worse negligence against others (not to minimize your experience) and no justice was obtained for the injured parties.

ID
#1907935 Review #1907935 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Jacksonville, Florida
Pros
  • Mayo nonsense about patient first
Cons
  • But they need to be responsible and ethical
Preferred solution
Investigators to seek incompetence of cancer care
New Reviewer

Testing

I would prefer to tell you in private.

User's recommendation: Do what you feel is right.

View full review
ID
#1866554 Review #1866554 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
Preferred solution
Can be talked about over the phone

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor Service, uncaring staff

The Mayo Clinic was nothing like promised or expected. They dont even meet their own advertising on the website. I asked my personal physician to make a recommendation to solve some of the health issues I was having. He suggested the Mayo because they give you a team of doctors to go over you from head to toe. Since some of my friends had also suggested I go to the Mayo I agreed and my doctor set up the appointment and forwarded my medical history to them. The Clinic is about three hours from my home so I anticipated spending at least one night in a hotel. I was somewhat surprised when the first doctor, a cardiologist, saw me but knew nothing of my history. Fortunately I did bring a disk and some printed copies however he seemed overwhelmed. From my verbal description he set up a number of tests and appointments with other doctors. Okay, maybe this will work. But no, getting appointments for tests and other doctors, in some cases, took months. To make a long story short, I spent 5 months driving back and forth, staying in hotels, paying for meals and gas to find out there was no "team" effort and very little follow up. Tests would be conducted and results did show up on the app very quickly but I really needed a doctor to translate the results into layman terms. The only real follow up I received was not from a doctor but from a PA who seemed to think high blood pressure and rapid heartbeat were not a big deal. What they didnt tell me were the more serious issues the tests discovered that I only found out about those after showing my personal physician the results. In my opinion, the normal operating procedure at the Mayo is 1) see a doctor, 2) have him schedule tests and other appointments and 3) wash your hands of that patient and go on to another. One other issue to be concerned about, their billing department is totally inflexible. Some of the cost of tests ordered were rejected by Medicare. I found out the reason was simple, they just needed a reason for the tests, a simple matter of coding. Billing would not budge, I was told that I signed a form saying I would pay what Medicare did not cover. Yes, I did, but I never expected THEY would not bill it correctly. I contacted the doctor who ordered the tests and of course got his assistant who was also inflexible, that I had to work it out with Medicare. Unfortunately that is not how it works. Dont expect to get any real results from this place but do expect to waste a lot of your time and money. The doctors are uncaring and seemed rushed, more so to get rid of you than to solve any health issues. They should really be ashamed but I doubt it.

User's recommendation: Go somewhere else.

View full review
1 comment
#1849342

I am sorry for your experience at Mayo Clinic. This is not uncommon.

I hope you have found answers and a resolution for your health.

Know there are great doctors at other medical organizations. Be glad you got out of Mayo when you did.

ID
#1860417 Review #1860417 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mayo Clinic Doctor
Pros
  • Test results show up on their app very quickly
Cons
  • Doctors do not followup on tests
  • Uncaring doctors
  • Inflexible billing department

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Mayo turned me into an ivalid!

I was operated on by Mayo Phoenix in Oct 2018 for a 4 vertebrae fusion. When I come out of anesthesia my left leg was numb. I left 5 days later with my left leg numb and has been numb every day for the past 18 months. I had them do a EMG in May of 2019, and it revealed deep root nerve damage. I called and ask about this and I have nerve damage heard from them again. Now I am close to being an invalid

User's recommendation: Get a second or third or fourth appinion.

View full review
ID
#1831134 Review #1831134 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
Pros
  • Non
Cons
  • All
Loss
$100000
Preferred solution
pain and suffering compensation

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Worthless Appointment

My wife heard about a trial for her breast cancer. She was told she would probably qualify. All portal records were forwarded for prior review to verify qualification so as to leave nothing to chance. Upon seeing the doctor was told she did not satisfy the criteria, wasting a 4 hour drive to and from.

User's recommendation: Make darn sure they have reviewed records in advance.

View full review
1 comment
#1836423

Why 5 star review?

ID
#1814905 Review #1814905 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Jacksonville East, Florida
Service
Mayo Clinic Department
Pros
  • Dont know

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Unless your a King Or Queen good luck.

My Dr. Suggest I get a 2 OPINION and requested a referral at the Mayo. 1st of all they lost the referral at the Mayo, ok that can happen so my Dr. Made another referral , 2nd 1 week later they finally call and said they looked over my chart and said they didn't need to see me , after reviewing my chart they said I could get the same surgery at our local hospital, or The U of M. I'am thinking the MAYO IS OVER RATED OR BECAUSE IAM NOT HIGH PROFILE. So I'll deal with the cancer locally.
View full review
3 comments
#1837342

I agree, the Mayo Clinic is over rated. I have personal experience taking a loved one to the Florida campus for the past couple of years.

The appearance of the hospital itself has drastically declined. It is dirty. Looks closely people. Filth in patient rooms, around toliets, outside buildings are dirty, etc.

They allow people to lay on the benches and sleep while waiting for an appointment. They have limited numbers of elevators and they are always crowding. My loved one is in a wheelchair and it never fails we wait to get on the elevator and the staff and visitors are so rude and will just overload the elevators because they're are very few. More importantly, They are selling a brand the name "Mayo".

They are selling numbers of success to the public. They are only interested in treating people who are going to have a superior chance at a better outcome this is how they get their high success rates. Think about it. Don't be fooled.

They will string you along and charge your insurance outrageous prices only to tell you and your family in the end their is nothing they can do. All of the private and government funding they receive they sure don't seem that "advanced" in the medical community. Seems like being a research hospital they would help everyone no matter what the outcome would be-even if that meant death. Because the truth is, if you have something serious you are looking to medicine to help extend your life or cure you.

In ending, it's like would you like to say you were treated at the "Mayo" clinic successfully as opposed to being treated at a lesser known or smaller facility with the same results. Too many damn people to get all these instant accurate results too. And way to many foreign doctors.

Something don't seem right. I suspect something will happen soon enough to expose the truth.

#1830870

After reading some reviews, I see iam better off NOT GOING TO THE MAYO. IT SEEM LIKE THEY ONLY CARE FOR MONEY AND NOT PEOPLE.

VERY MUCH OVER RATED, TV COMMERCIAL ARE DECEIVING AND MISLEADING AND SHOULD BE REMOVED. I THINK I'D GET BETTER CARE AT A VETERINARIAN HOSPITAL.

#1830868

Also I think The Mayo should pull there Commercials off TV, they are deceiving and misleading.

View more comments (2)
ID
#1798195 Review #1798195 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Dont know
Cons
  • Dont live up to there reputation
Preferred solution
None,

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article