Mayo Clinic Reviews

Show reviews that mention
mayo doctor doctors care pain clinic patient people treatment money
Showing 37 of 98 reviews Clear filter
Filter review
New Reviewer

Poor ervice

I set an appointment with them about 3 weeks ago for them to call me at 8:45 AM on July 9, 2021. They never called. I thought they were a first class outfit!
View full review
ID
#2669532 Review #2669532 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Jacksonville, Florida
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
This fee is a fee not a deposit or an amount that goes towards your deductible or medical expenses... for my ex husband who has been battling with 2 CSF leaks in his spine/brain since having a cyst removed in July of 2018, and living on disability only for last 3...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2413127 Review #2413127 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mayo Clinic Customer Care
Pros
  • That dr marsh may be able to cure my x husband
Cons
  • That its unaffordable
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Miserable experience

I filled in all the details in the above column. There are no further details except the fact that Mayo's

User's recommendation: Find another hospital.

View full review
ID
#2399662 Review #2399662 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
1st visit to Dr.Thomas Osborn went relatively well. Second visit this past year (09/30/20) experienced a shorter time frame with him &;; no change in meds or any new recommendations. However, as of yesterday (01/28/21) I was informed by a NURSE! of a drastic change...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2399653 Review #2399653 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I moved to Minnesota (MN) to go to Mayo for a rare form of blood cancer. Where I'd lived, the doctors didn't know how to help me. During the shutdown in March 2020, Mayo abandoned me and all their patients even though the MN governor said that the chronically and...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1970545

I am sorry you had this terrible experience. This is a pattern of unethical behavior from Mayo Clinic.

I hope you have been able to find medical care from a compassionate provider. I recommend contacting the following: 1) RareDiseaseFoundation.org as they may be able to refer you or help you find a specialist to help you. Don't give up. Also, please do the following: 2) Call, email and write to your congressional representatives and your senators.

REQUEST YOUR REP/SENATOR to file a congressional inquiry on your behalf to look into the abandonment of your medical care for a life threatening condition. This is a violation of your patients' rights. Go to this site to find your representatives. It's quick and easy.

https://www.house.gov/representatives/find-your-representative 3) File a complaint with the US Joint Commission and submit a complaint here: https://www.jointcommission.org/resources/patient-safety-topics/report-a-patient-safety-event/ Tell your story. Be concise. Make sure you have all of your records. Keep a log of your actions and create a journal of your experiences at Mayo Clinic.

I hope this helps. Ask a friend or family member to help you if this is too much for you alone. You are not alone sadly.

You are in my prayers. God bless you.

ID
#2306117 Review #2306117 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Disappointing experience

After being told by Oncology Department the Pancreatic Cancer I was diagnosed with stage two that surgery is ineffective and chemo would kill me! I was told to go home and get hospice care! No alternatives suggested! I found a Mount Sina Surgeon who is operating on me this week and has more options to treat my Cancer! No cat scans or pet scans showed any involvement in my organs ! My attorney wife says Mayo is liable for my delay in treatment! We will see soon!

User's recommendation: Do not bother with Mayo Oncology.

View full review
1 comment
#1861229

I am sorry you had this disappointing experience. This is more common at Mayo Clinic than most realize.

Be thankful you found care elsewhere. I wish a successful outcome.

Good luck with getting an apology or accountability from Mayo Clinic. They've committed much worse negligence against others (not to minimize your experience) and no justice was obtained for the injured parties.

ID
#1907935 Review #1907935 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Jacksonville, Florida
Pros
  • Mayo nonsense about patient first
Cons
  • But they need to be responsible and ethical
Preferred solution
Investigators to seek incompetence of cancer care

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor Service, uncaring staff

The Mayo Clinic was nothing like promised or expected. They dont even meet their own advertising on the website. I asked my personal physician to make a recommendation to solve some of the health issues I was having. He suggested the Mayo because they give you a team of doctors to go over you from head to toe. Since some of my friends had also suggested I go to the Mayo I agreed and my doctor set up the appointment and forwarded my medical history to them. The Clinic is about three hours from my home so I anticipated spending at least one night in a hotel. I was somewhat surprised when the first doctor, a cardiologist, saw me but knew nothing of my history. Fortunately I did bring a disk and some printed copies however he seemed overwhelmed. From my verbal description he set up a number of tests and appointments with other doctors. Okay, maybe this will work. But no, getting appointments for tests and other doctors, in some cases, took months. To make a long story short, I spent 5 months driving back and forth, staying in hotels, paying for meals and gas to find out there was no "team" effort and very little follow up. Tests would be conducted and results did show up on the app very quickly but I really needed a doctor to translate the results into layman terms. The only real follow up I received was not from a doctor but from a PA who seemed to think high blood pressure and rapid heartbeat were not a big deal. What they didnt tell me were the more serious issues the tests discovered that I only found out about those after showing my personal physician the results. In my opinion, the normal operating procedure at the Mayo is 1) see a doctor, 2) have him schedule tests and other appointments and 3) wash your hands of that patient and go on to another. One other issue to be concerned about, their billing department is totally inflexible. Some of the cost of tests ordered were rejected by Medicare. I found out the reason was simple, they just needed a reason for the tests, a simple matter of coding. Billing would not budge, I was told that I signed a form saying I would pay what Medicare did not cover. Yes, I did, but I never expected THEY would not bill it correctly. I contacted the doctor who ordered the tests and of course got his assistant who was also inflexible, that I had to work it out with Medicare. Unfortunately that is not how it works. Dont expect to get any real results from this place but do expect to waste a lot of your time and money. The doctors are uncaring and seemed rushed, more so to get rid of you than to solve any health issues. They should really be ashamed but I doubt it.

User's recommendation: Go somewhere else.

View full review
1 comment
#1849342

I am sorry for your experience at Mayo Clinic. This is not uncommon.

I hope you have found answers and a resolution for your health.

Know there are great doctors at other medical organizations. Be glad you got out of Mayo when you did.

ID
#1860417 Review #1860417 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mayo Clinic Doctor
Pros
  • Test results show up on their app very quickly
Cons
  • Inflexible billing department
  • Uncaring doctors
  • Doctors do not followup on tests

Mayo Clinic denied care

Called to make an appt only to be denied the opportunity to make an appt. I am 67 on Medicare and have the best supplemental insurance I can obtain.
View full review
3 comments
#1788962

Thank God above you were denied by greedy, unethical, discriminating Mayo Clinic. You are better off.

You can obtain good healthcare elsewhere. Mayo is overrated and makes as many, if not more mistakes, than the next facility. The difference is they're better at hiding it and getting away with it. It is their policy to deny care to lesser insured, medicaid, medicare patients.

Former CEO got caught saying this verbatim in video in a speech to employees in Minnesota. It's on the internet and in articles. Note, according to the Patients' Bill of Rights its a violation to deny a patient care due to their source of payment. But, Mayo has a history of this and the governing powers that be, like within in the state healthcare administration, the state attorney general on up to the US Joint Commission, they all look the other way.

Mayo gets away with A LOT!

Denial of care in instances like yours is a Mayo thing along with abandoning patients in the middle of care. Again, you're better off elsewhere.

#1786830

Guess you will need to make an appointment at a clinic that accepts your insurance.

#1788959
@PissedConsumer1786830

My, your reply reeks of a Mayo troll employed by the king of denial and discrimination of health care. Congratulations.

What is your deal? Do you just sit in this forum and troll the reviews?

Are you a puppet for Negligence Clinic? Pathetic.

View more comments (2)
ID
#1725929 Review #1725929 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cannon Falls, Minnesota
Service
Mayo Clinic Customer Care
New Reviewer

Overcharged..

College daughter went for a simple strep test.. $600 bill... Would not recommend sending your college kid there.
View full review
ID
#1686396 Review #1686396 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Service
Mayo Clinic Medical Care
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Loss
$400
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

Bad dermatology department.

Went to Mayo Dermatology in MN for a few things. One was to remove a cyst on my upper thigh. It itches and is very bothersome. It's hard as a rock. It had been removed twice, but grew back. I thought they had good doctors that could get the whole thing out. The doctor refused. I asked if it could turn cancerous. She yelled. Said that cysts and moles don't turn cancerous. They either are or they aren't. I asked again to please remove the cyst. She refused and said I should see a psychiatrist. I don't think she knew how to completely remove a cyst. I should have been referred to a Doctor how could remove it. Flew a long way to get this kind of bad treatment. So if you ask questions, you should see a psych?? She put this in my medical report. Trying to get this taken out of the report. Yale New Haven Medical has an excellent Dermatology Depart. If I hadn't had to go to Mayo for other things, I would never have gone to their Dermatology Depart. If I had cancer I would go to MD Anderson.
View full review
ID
#1596700 Review #1596700 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Greenville, South Carolina
Service
Mayo Clinic Doctor
Reason of review
Bad quality

Horrible-terrifying

I was seen in genetics. My mother passed away from a genetic disorder, my daughters have the same issue. I exhibit and pass on the scale to have it as well. Arrogant dr. Was extremely rude, degrading and totally unethical. I had heart issues, he refused to check my heart... my friend ran into hall and got a nurse. The nurse was concerned by arythmia and called ambulance. They wanted to take me to St. Mary’s. The dr was yelling from down the hallway that it’s anxiety! I have major heart issues and NEVER diagnosed with anxiety! They “Mayo” was trying to medically kidnap me!!! This is happening in Minnesota! Beware!
View full review
ID
#1366823 Review #1366823 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Plymouth, Minnesota

Bullied into unnecessary surgery!!

Went into the ER with pain. First the ER people didn't believe my pain and left me to wait many many hours while I vomited violently from the pain. Finally, a doctor saw me and I was moved into my own room. They gave me an ultrasound and said it was inconclusive.... then they said they were going to remove my gallbladder. I didn't want to do the surgery! They sent in this heavy set lady that told me I could die if I didn't have the surgery. She went on and on talking about all the horrible things that would happen if I didn't get the surgery. She did enough to scare my husband and I into reluctantly agreeing to the surgery. The told my husband it was routine. They told my husband that he would only have to wait 30 minutes. I left my husband waiting in the room and took me to surgery. The person pushing me to the OR got lost along the way. They had complications with the surgery. Apparently through their negligence my gallbladder burst. The surgery took over two hours. Nobody even took the time to update my husband. Here I am more than 10 weeks later after more than three courses of anabiotics... and I am still not well. This was an unnecessary surgery! The pain that I went in for originally is still there. Now I have all this other pain from the surgery that they definitely did improperly. And to make matters worse, I now have this huge bill. Did I mention that I don't have a job. My husband's insurance only covers so much. They expect me to make Huge $225 monthly payments.... I DONT HAVE A JOB! How can I work when this surgery almost crippled me! I can't even pick up a gallon of milk because of the pain!! The nurses are not nice. The doctors are incompetent. And everybody in the billing department... well, let's just say I hope you have the same fate that you gave me.
View full review
ID
#1362297 Review #1362297 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Owatonna, Minnesota

No money for medical help

Wasn’t told they don’t take Medicare prior to apt. They took Medicare info. Seen 5 other specialist but can’t go there. Only folks w/money- middle class working people can’t get special care!
View full review
1 comment
#1853799

i completely agree

ID
#1356553 Review #1356553 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

A Person could die beforde a referral.

I called Mayo Clinic in Rochester MN, for an appointment with a surgeon, due to a terrible pain in my back. I was promptly notified that I would need a referral before I could see a doctor. Therefore, I contacted my provider at Mayo Clinic at Austin MN. I was given an appointment for this referral 28 days later. So I have to suffer with this pain. For 28 days, If this was a more serious situation, I could die before getting this referral . I am seriously looking for a new provider I think Mayo has really gone down hill . Or to be more clear all they are interested in is making money. Two appointments instead of one? They Suck
View full review
2 comments
#1540500

Difficulty getting a referral is usually the fault of the PCP or the insurance company. I verified insurance at a hospital for years (not Mayo) and it can be like pulling teeth trying to get some insurance companies to give the referral....

#1891259
@PissedConsumer1540500

Your first mistake was going to the greedy patient care lacking mayo clinic. Monopolized the whole area and when called out by Dr.

Kumar about it, he was fired. Doctors don't stay because they're treated like *** and told to push patients through.

Doctors don't read charts before you come in so you have to repeat yourself multiple times. Go to Olmstead or Minneapolis...you will be treated better!

View more comments (1)
ID
#1314649 Review #1314649 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Rochester, Minnesota
Cons
  • Poor appointment procedure
Reason of review
change policy
Preferred solution
change your policy and take care of patients instead of money

"Emergency" ?? room

My son got hit in the face and cut his chin while sledding. He was taken to Austin MN "ER." It took me almost an hour to get there. I found him still crying in the waiting room holding a dirty fast food napkin from the floor of the car on his wound. No ice pack, no pain management, no sterile gauze. Needless to say, we left and went to St Mary's. I did submit a formal complaint, but never heard anything back.
View full review
ID
#1253560 Review #1253560 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Austin, Minnesota
Service
Mayo Clinic Medical Care
Reason of review
Bad quality

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article